CAIRN-INT.INFO : International Edition


Founded by Émile Durkheim and in publication since 1898, L’Année Sociologique is a general journal of sociology and one of the oldest social sciences journals. Its origins and its history have conferred on it a special prestige. Although initially influenced by Emile Durkheim, today the journal is inclusive: its sole principle remains the search for accuracy and scientific rigor in social science. It largely publishes contributions on empirical sociological knowledge, and research on social science history. It also includes research regarding the relationship between sociology and other social sciences (history, anthropology, economics, and psychology).

L’Année Sociologique welcomes unsolicited articles submitted to it, and thematic issues that provide an overview of the state of advancement of various areas of sociology.

Historically a francophone journal, it now seeks to include English research. This is done in two ways: by encouraging articles from outside authors written in English and by publishing a selection of articles translated from French on the Cairn website.

Publication ethics and publication malpractice statement

All PUF journals follow policies and practices that reflect the current best principles of transparency and integrity (COPE).

Core paractives are available here :

Editorial Board

Editorial Director

Gianluca Manzo (Sorbonne Université).

Editorial Committee

G. Bronner (Sorbonne Université), A. Chiesi (université d’État de Milan, Italie), P. Duran (École normale supérieure Paris-Saclay), I. Ermakoff (École des hautes études en sciences sociales/université du Wisconsin-Madison, États-Unis), M. Forsé (CNRS – École normale supérieure/École des hautes études en sciences sociales), C. Jayet (Sorbonne Université), M. Lallement (CNAM), C. Lévy (Institut d’études européennes/université Paris 8 – LabTop/Cresppa), C. Mantzavinos (université d’Athènes, Grèce), G. Manzo (Sorbonne Université), J.-Ch. Marcel (université de Bourgogne Franche-Comté), A. Revillard (Sciences Po Paris), A. van Zanten (CNRS – Sciences Po Paris).

Responsible for the literature reviews

P. Duran (École normale supérieure Paris-Saclay), F. Gérard (université de Paris VIII-Vincennes-Saint-Denis), J.-C. Marcel (université de Bourgogne Franche-Comté).

Steering Committee

P. Demeulenaere (Sorbonne Université), M. Dion (université de Bourgogne Franche-Comté), S. Langlois (université Laval, Québec), P. Lascoumes (Sciences Po Paris), M. Lamont (université de Harvard).

Former Directors

Henri Lévy-Bruhl, Georges Davy, Jean Carbonnier, Raymond Boudon, Bernard Valade, Pierre Demeulenaere.

Submissions guidelines


L’Année sociologique
Maison de la Recherche de Sorbonne Université
28 rue Serpente
75006 Paris

Contact: Delphine Renard (

Website: L’Année sociologique

This page was last edited on 27 January 2023

Code of ethics

The Code of Ethics applicable to drafting committees and editorial boards of academic journals offered on, including L’Année sociologique, is available on this page.

Other information

Print ISSN : 0066-2399
Online ISSN : 1969-6760
Publisher : P.U.F.

Loading... Please wait