CAIRN-INT.INFO : International Edition


Le Temps des médias is a biannual journal published by the Société pour l’histoire des médias and Nouveau Monde Éditions, with academic support from the Temps, Médias et Société research group (Centre d’histoire de Sciences Po, FNSP). The journal aims to use a historical perspective to provide its readers with the tools they need to analyze and understand the media world in which they live.

The Société pour l’histoire des medias (SPHM) is a not-for-profit organization founded in 2000 by modern and contemporary historians who wanted to develop scientific thought and promote historical studies in the field of media, mediations, and mediators. It takes a broad approach to the history of media, leaving room for all of its aspects, be they economic, social, political, or cultural. As part of this approach, it examines topics including the history of information and communication means and techniques, the history of information exchange and circulation, the history of cultural industries, and the historical sociology of media. It maintains a multidisciplinary perspective and is open to all researchers, teachers, and media and culture professionals—both French and international—who, through their research or activities, work toward developing studies on the history of media.

The SPHM’s objectives are:
To contribute to the development of studies in the history of media in the field of modern and contemporary history, in particular by helping to update current thinking and by organizing academic meetings;
To encourage awareness of both French and international sources on the history of media, by ensuring close collaboration between researchers, public or private archive institutes, and professionals;
To create a place where all those (researchers, teachers, and professionals) who contribute to defining and building the history of media can meet and exchange ideas;
To gather information on the study of the history of media (academic works, scientific publications, conferences, other initiatives) and disseminate it to researchers, teachers, students, and professionals, both in France and abroad.

Editorial Board

Scientific director:
Christian Delporte

Anne-Claude Ambroise-Rendu, Isabelle Veyrat-Masson

Editorial secretaries:
Claire Sécail, Alexandre Borrell

Editorial committee:
Anne-Claude Ambroise-Rendu, Laurent Bihl, Claire Blandin, Alexandre Borrell, Jérôme Bourdon, Marjolaine Boutet, Yves Bouvier, Marion Brétéché, Frédéric Clavert, Evelyne Cohen, Jamil Dakhlia, Muriel de la Souchère, Yannick Dehée, Christian Delporte, Hélène Duccini †, Emmanuelle Fantin, Pierre-Emmanuel Guigo, Françoise Hache-Bissette, Stéphane Haffemayer, Sébastien Hallade, Thibault Le Hégarat, Alexis Lévrier, Denis Maréchal, Bérénice Mariau, Cécile Méadel, Caroline Moine, Bibia Pavard, Géraldine Poels, François Robinet,Valérie Schafer, Claire Sécail, Isabelle Veyrat-Masson

Foreign correspondents:
Jérôme Bourdon (Israel), Josette Brun (Canada), Alain Clavien (Switzerland), Simona Colarizzi (Italy), Govindarasu Darpara Sivam (India), Geoffrey Hare (UK), Michael Harris (UK), Laurence Coudart Gravelle (Mexico), Juan Antonio García Galindo (Spain), Jaume Guillaumet (Spain), Muriel Hanot (Belgium), Ursula E. Koch (Germany), Zdravka Konstantinova (Bulgaria), Michèle Martin (Canada), Madjid Merdaci (Algeria), Peppino Ortoleva (Italy), Jeremy D. Popkin (USA), Hans Renders (The Netherlands), Bernd Sösemann (Germany)

Scientific committee:
Maurice Agulhon †, Pierre Albert, Serge Berstein, Hervé Brusini, Roland Cayrol, Thomas Ferenczi, Marc Ferro, Emmanuel Hoog, Jean-Noël Jeanneney, Pierre Nora, Pascal Ory, Michelle Perrot, René Rémond †, Jean-Pierre Rioux, Daniel Roche, Jean-François Sirinelli, Pierre Sorlin

Publication director:
Yannick Dehée


Code of ethics

The Code of Ethics applicable to drafting committees and editorial boards of academic journals offered on, including Le Temps des médias, is available on this page.

Other information

Print ISSN : 1764-2507
Online ISSN : 2104-3671
Publisher : Nouveau Monde éditions

Loading... Please wait